That's life...🌱

my personal-web pet peeves 🖥️

ermmm3.png source


I started writing this because I wanted to talk about things that bother me while surfing the personal web... but first let's clear some things up

From: Indie Web is not same as the Small Web

Small web is an alternate version of the mainstream web, that includes less-known social media alternatives, alternative protocols like Gemini or Gopher, and minimalistic (not like the corporate) personal websites, it's a simplified version of Indie Web.

Personal web, or the web revival is basically a bit similar to the small web, except it's less tech-savvy, which makes it perfect for artists or random Gen Z kids (like me!) who didn't know much about the old web, the predecessor of the personal web.

And according to Cambridge Dictionary:

pet peeve

something that especially annoys you


Slow websites

awiting.png

This is maybe the most annoying problem on the personal web, I think. I click on a website and I'm greeted with a bunch of images, logos, backgrounds, stickies, that take a while to load. Now, once they do, the site looks beautiful I'm sure. But most of the time I click out before they can finish loading. It lags my whole browser!

I don't use many images for my websites (especially because I haven't practised the "position" stuff and all) so I'm not sure if it's hard to get your images light enough so they load fast. It can't be too complicated to compress them, I'm sure? But then again, I don't have much experience with this. It could also be because of my internet/computer/RAM or something else, but I doubt it.

Not having an easy to copy button

butns

Like, not having your button's code in a textarea or code box for easy copy and pasting. Now, I don't think this is something that makes or breaks your site, but having your button's code easy to copy makes it a lot easier for people to share and put it on their website! I like adding all the buttons of websites I like to mine, so it makes it much easier.

Everything being too hard to read!

imagen.png

This might just be me because I'm short-sighted (and getting progressibly worse) but some sites have a tiny tiny font in liiiight colour over a sliiiiightly lighter background colour. I'm having a headache trying to read! Zooming in does help most of the time, but let's say if you want people to be able to see your website, mayyyybe don't make it so hard. It's also so bad for accessibility. Everyone making a website should at least have a little look at Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG), i think

On this topic, i highly recommend reading On Accessibility, Mobile Responsiveness, and the Personal Web and other posts it references. Reading them helped me understand the importance of accessibility and implement it to my site!

That's all

I can't think of anything else that annoys me while surfing the personal web, so this post ends here. Have a nice day/night/life


Reply via email

#accessibility #coding #personalweb #webdesign